The Alchemist in Literature

The Alchemist in Literature

Unlike most other studies of alchemy and literature, which focus on alchemical imagery in poetry of specific periods or writers, this book traces the figure of the alchemist in Western literature from its first appearance in the Eighth Circle of Dante's Inferno down to the present. From the beginning alchemy has had two aspects: exoteric or operative (the transmutation of baser metals into gold) and esoteric or speculative (the spiritual transformation of the alchemist himself). From Dante to Ben Jonson, during the centuries when the belief in exoteric alchemy was still strong and exploited by many charlatans to deceive the gullible, writers in major works of many literatures treated alchemists with ridicule in an effort to expose their tricks. From the Renaissance to the Enlightenment, as that belief weakened, the figure of the alchemist disappeared, even though Protestant poets in England and Germany were still fond of alchemical images. But when eighteenth-century science almost wholly undermined alchemy, the figure of the alchemist began to emerge again in literature—now as a humanitarian hero or as a spirit striving for sublimation. Following these esoteric romanticizations, as scholarly interest in alchemy intensified, writers were attracted to the figure of the alchemist and his quest for power. The fin-de-siecle saw a further transformation as poets saw in the alchemist a symbol for the poet per se and others, influenced by the prevailing spiritism, as a manifestation of the religious spirit. During the interwar years, as writers sought surrogates for the widespread loss of religious faith, esoteric alchemy underwent a pronounced revival, and many writers turned to the figure of the alchemist as a spiritual model or, in the case of Paracelsus in Germany, as a national figurehead. This tendency, theorized by C. G. Jung in several major studies, inspired after World War II a vast popularization of the figure in novels—historical, set in the present, or juxtaposing past and present— in England, France, Germany, Italy, Brazil, and the United States. The inevitable result of this popularization was the trivialization of the figure in advertisements for healing and cooking or in articles about scientists and economists. In sum: the figure of the alchemist in literature provides a seismograph for major shifts in intellectual and cultural history.

GET FULL EBOOK

Author
Publisher Oxford University Press
Release Date
ISBN 0191063819
Pages 240 pages

More Books:

The Alchemist in Literature
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Theodore Ziolkowski
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-15 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Unlike most other studies of alchemy and literature, which focus on alchemical imagery in poetry of specific periods or writers, this book traces the figure of
The Alchemist's Handbook
Language: en
Pages: 162
Authors: Frater Albertus
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-06-01 - Publisher: Weiser Books

“If you really want to learn the basic principles of practical alchemy, Frater Albertus’ Alchemist’s Handbook is literally is worth its weight in gold.”
The Alchemist's Code
Language: en
Pages: 339
Authors: Martin Rua
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-01 - Publisher: Head of Zeus

The first in a gripping conspiracy thriller series for fans of Scott Mariani and Dan Brown. A dark figure. A secret code. A battle between good and evil... Year
The Alchemist's Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Mary Lawrence
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-01 - Publisher: Kensington Books

“Unique characters, a twisty plot and a bold, bright heroine . . . Mystery and Tudor fans alike will raise a glass to this new series.”—Karen Harper, New
The alchemist ; Catiline ; Bartholomew Fair
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ben Jonson
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1875 - Publisher:

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Theodora Goss
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-20 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of
Goethe the Alchemist
Language: en
Pages: 311
Authors: Ronald D. Gray
Categories: Alchemy in literature
Type: BOOK - Published: 1952 - Publisher:

Andrew and the Alchemist
Language: en
Pages: 102
Authors: Barbara Ninde Byfield
Categories: Alchemists
Type: BOOK - Published: 1977 - Publisher:

Andrew, an eleven-year-old orphan, becomes apprenticed to an alchemist and begins a life of adventure.
The Alchemist's Daughter (Mills & Boon Historical)
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Elaine Knighton
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-27 - Publisher: HarperCollins UK

THE QUEST FOR SECRETS HAD DESTROYED ONE MAN SHE LOVED. HER HEART COULD NOT BEAR TO LOSE ANOTHER. Isidora Binte Deogel had lost her father to alchemy, only to se
Sophia, the Alchemist's Dog
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Shelley Jackson
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books

The royal alchemist's dog Sophia is able to discover for herself the secret of making gold, but when the king comes to visit he finds treasure of a different ki